What Are Chakras?

Healing, Marriage
May 22, 2021

The Authentic Wife and Mom

Beth Rowles | The Conscious Marriage Coach

Chakra means disc or wheel. Consider it a disk that contains vital programs for your body. If the body is our hardware, programming is our software, and the self is the user, what activates each program is the energy poured into the system. The chakras are “intricate internal flowcharts [that] decide which areas to energize and when,” according to Dr. Anodea Judith in her book Eastern Body, Western Mind. The challenge or opportunity before us is to find the appropriate program causing havoc and get the bugs out.

The idea is that we have a “Current of Liberation” which is the upward current through each chakra in our body. When there are blocks and constrictions, we cannot change, grow, or expand.

To learn more about each chakra, please watch my video, What Are Chakras:

What fascinates me about each chakra is that they are developed during different stages of development, and then again starting in adolescence. When we experience childhood trauma, we develop blocks in the corresponding chakra. To unblock them we have to:

  • Understand the dynamics of each chakra
  • Examine our personal history related to the chakra’s issues/stage of development
  • Apply exercises and techniques
  • Balance excess and deficiency

We have excess energy when we increase our energy and attention in order to fight the stress (we overcompensate).

We have deficient energy when we withdraw from the situation (avoidance).

An excessive chakra can feed a deficient one, so we may need to strengthen chakras below it.

To Heal Imbalances

Excess needs to discharge energy.

Deficient needs to receive energy.

Healing Approaches

  • Verbally through discussion
  • Physically through work with the body and movement
  • Spiritually through meditation
  • Emotionally through exploration of feelings
  • Visually through images
  • Aurally through sounds
  • Actualized through outer world tasks that strengthen certain areas of our lives

The first round of chakra development takes roughly 20 years, then starts over again on a more complex level when the child leaves home and begins adult life.

The 7 Chakras

(My apologies that the below chart may be cut off, see the image above instead)

Chakra One Chakra Two Chakra Three Chakra Four Chakra Five Chakra Six Chakra Seven
Sanskrit name (meaning) Muladhara (root) Svadhisthana (sweetness) Manipura (lustrous gem) Anahata (unstuck) Vissudha (purification) Ajna (to perceive) Sahasrara (thousandfold)
Location Base of spine, coccygeal plexus Abdomen, genitals, low back, hips Solar plexus Heart area Throat Brow Top of head, cerebral cortex
Central issue Survival Sexuality, emotions Power, will Love, relationships Communication Intuition, imagination Awareness
Orientation to self Self-preservation Self-gratification Self-definition Self-acceptance Self-expression Self-reflection Self-knowledge
Goals Stability, grounding, physical health, prosperity, trust Fluidity, pleasure, healthy sexuality, feeling Vitality, spontaneity, strength of will, purpose, self-esteem Balance, compassion, self-acceptance, good relationships Clear communication, creativity, resonance Psychic perception, accurate interpretation, imagination, clear seeing Wisdom, knowledge, consciousness, spiritual connection
Rights To be here, to have To feel, to want To act To love and be loved To speak and to be heard To see To know
Developmental stage Womb to 12 months 6 months to 2 years 18 months to 4 years 4 to 7 years 7 to 12 years Adolescence Throughout life
Identity Physical identity Emotional identity Ego identity Social identity Creative identity Archetypal identity Universal identity
Demon Fear Guilt Shame Grief Lies Illusion Attachment
Excessive characteristics Heaviness, sluggish, monotony, obesity, hoarding, materialism, greed Overly emotional, poor boundaries, sex addiction, obsessive attachments Dominating, controlling, aggressive, scattered, constantly active Codependency, poor boundaries, possessive, jealous Excessive talking, inability to listen, stuttering Headaches, nightmares, hallucinations, delusions, difficulty concentrating Overly intellectual, spiritual addiction, confusion, dissociation
Deficient characteristics Fearful, undisciplined, restless, underweight, spacey Frigid, impotent, rigid, emotionally numb, fearful of pleasure Weak will, poor self-esteem, passive, sluggish, fearful Shy, lonely, isolated, lack of empathy, bitter, critical Fear of speaking, poor rhythm, aphasia Poor memory, poor vision, unimaginative, denial Learning difficulties, spiritual skepticism, limited beliefs, materialism, apathy


Be sure to also learn about the Character Structures associated with each chakra by reading How The Body Stores Emotions.


To learn more about having a Conscious Marriage and how to save your marriage from divorce, visit my page on Marriage.

Beth Rowles
Follow me!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I'm Beth Rowles, Hi!

I help driven moms use the conflict in their marriage as a feedback loop to grow in self-awareness so they can create the marriage they, and their kids, deserve without leaving the one they're in or waiting for their husband to evolve.

I'm the author of The Authentic Wife: Uncaging Yourself Through Marriage and host of The Authentic Wife Show podcast & YouTube channel.


Recent Posts




Save your marriage from divorce coaching course book Beth Rowles relationship trailblazer. What's your Soul Truth in Marriage?

FREE: The Princess & The Peeve™ Instantly Take Control Of Your Life By Learning What Your Current Emotions Mean

The Princess & The Peeve Emotion Assessment Worksheet

FREE: Get 30 Texts/Scripts to Ask Your Husband for Help Without Getting Resistance

30 Texts to Ask Your Husband for Help Without Starting a Fight

Are You True to Yourself in Your Marriage? Read My Book, The Authentic Wife:

The Authentic Wife: Uncaging Yourself Through Marriage by Beth Rowles

Learn How to Love Your Husband Again, Even If It Feels Like It's Too Late

Love Him Again: A Step-by-Step Guide to Saving Your Marriage by Beth Rowles

6-Month Marriage Coaching Program for Wives Contemplating Divorce

Happily Ever After 6-Month Marriage Coaching Program

"Your partner is ultimately a mirror of how you feel about yourself, and your relationship will call on you to get into integrity with earlier wounds and negative life patterns."

--Dr. Laura Berman, Quantum Love

Love Queen, Enneagram 5, Child Prioritizer, Problem Solver, Book Lover, Authenticity Expert, And Your Marriage Saver

I’m Beth.
Your Authenticity
[to keep it a Family] Coach.

You and your kids deserve a marriage that brings your light to life. That may seem far away right now, but I’m proof that it’s possible and in your power to create! Stop worrying about what your kids are learning from him and let’s figure out what they can learn from you, mama!